sexta-feira, 8 de janeiro de 2010

Tabula Rasa

From Kangsala, Finland, Tabula Rasa was founded in 1972 by guitarist Heikki Silvennoinen, drummer Asko Pakkanen, and bass player Tapio Suominen. During the band's run, Mikko Alatalo played the Peter Sinfield role as contributing lyricist, and unofficial member. They are considered one of the top finish prog bands, but tend be overlooked when put alongside Wigwam, and Tasavallan Pesidentti (sort of like the Kinks next to the Beatles, The Who, and The Rolling Stones). Along with opening for Wigwam, they gained notoriety by becoming runner up in the 1972 "Best Finnish Pop Group" contest.

For the 1975 self-titled debut, the band had been filled out by vocalist Jukka Leppilampi, flautist Jarmo Sormunen, and pianist Jim Pembroke. 1976's "Ekkedien Tanssi" saw some changes in personnel. Jarmo Sormunen was gone, Jukka Aronen replaced Pakkanen on percussion, and keyboardist Jarno Sinisalo replaced Pembroke. Vocalist Jukka Salmela took the lead on the last two tracks. Wigwam's Jukka Gustavson made a guest appearance, and co-produced the album.

The band split in 1977 as Aronen and Silvonnoinen joined Coitus Inc, and other members followed different philosophical paths.

The music is mellow, and melodic. The obvious comparisons are made to their Finnish contemporaries, but there is also a strong resemblance to Camel (and even a bit of Steve Hackett).

H.T. Riekels


Ekkedien Tanssi - 1976